Prometheus

26 Dec

I’m a fan of Alien (and in all honesty who isn’t?), so this looks interesting. I mean, logically, it has to be good. How can it not be? It combines both the (basic) plot of Alien and the director of Blade Runner, two of the best sci-fi movies of EVER. Also it’s meant to be a sci-fi/horror film, where can you go wrong with that?

Actually, now that I think about it there are a lot of places where it can potentially go wrong. Sigourney Weaver’s character Ripley in Alien was one of the most dynamic and amazing female lead characters you’ll find in film. From the the movie’s wikipedia page (which is the WORST source you can look ANYTHING up on, admittedly) it looks like the main character Elizabeth Shaw is supposed to be Ripley-esque, but with the way Hollywood is today, I worry that about halfway through the movie we’ll have to watch what could have been an amazing leading female character scream through the rest of the movie in what looks like the sweatiest, bralessest and nippliest of white tank tops.

Another fear I have is that there won’t be any fear in the movie, just shock. Alien wasn’t just a space action movie when it originally came out, it was actually a horror movie and was very effective at being genuinely scary. Horror movies nowadays use a lot of shock, gore and shakey cameras to convince you that whatever is going on in whatever scene you’re watching is causing you the emotional anxiety that fear brings. You either have a major gross-out gore movie like all of the Saw movies after the first one, as well as with Hostel, or you have the Could-This-Be-Real YouTube like home video movies like Paranormal Activity or Cloverfield. Not that there’s anything wrong with these movies, but I want something that is scary without too many gimmicks, because I’m tired of the headaches that shakey cams give me.

The previews for this movie give me a sense of tensions that I like though (not in the sexy way, more like that I-Can’t-Look-Away… way), and I’m hoping to think as highly of this as I thought of other sci-fi/horror movies like, for instance, Pandorum. I’m definitely going to have to keep my eye out for more info on the movie as it comes out, because let’s face it, as expensive as movies are now, I don’t want to waste my money on something boring.

One Response to “Prometheus”

  1. Shareef December 26, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Pandorum was a great movie. Not only was the pacing awesome, but I was truly surprised by the ending.

Leave a Reply

