Philips Fidelio AS351

25 Jun

Last November I’d selfishly made a Things I Want post about the Philips Fidelio series of Universal Android Docks. I wanted one so bad, and luckily for me a few weeks ago ThingFling had them on sale for $50 plus shipping and handling. Being that I’m a fairly broke nerd I hopped on the opportunity to get something I wanted without having to pay a tremendous amount of money for it. It’s a good thing I did, because after toying around with getting a Motorola specific speaker dock for months before finding this deal, I dropped my phone twice the week before I received it and now have the most inconvenient spots of dead pixels one could have on a phone. After being so proud of myself for being able to keep a phone past an upgrade, and convincing myself that my Motorola X was still in good enough condition to keep for as long as possible, I manage to put myself in need of a new phone within a few days.

But I digress.

So on Friday, after a delivery mix up, I got my Philips Fidelio AS351 and so far I love it. Although it took a bit longer than I expected to get set up (which I’ll admit is probably because of how hard it was for me to SEE anything through the dead pixels and all) I found it pretty easy to use. At first I thought I was going to be disappointed, because the app that I use for music on my phone is the Google Play Music app, because it gives me access to literally ALL of the music on my harddrive at home from anywhere. But after awhile I figured out that not only can you exit the Fidelio app screen and still keep the phone connected to the speakers via bluetooth, but you also don’t need to have the USB connected to the phone for the speaker to work (something I’d forgotten since my first post). The sound is amazing, and there isn’t any sort of weird lag between the speaker and the phone when the music starts and stops. The only thing that I wish it had that is doesn’t is a remote control for the speaker so I could control things that way, but I won’t ask for too much. I’m happy I made the purchase, and I would definitely recommend others check out ThingFling for deals on other Philips phone docks as well, just in case the specs on this one don’t intrigue you as much as they did me.

Leave a Reply

