Nexus 5 Review

26 Dec

I must have looked like a weirdo during the last couple weeks of December. Thanks to one of the podcasts I do, Android Visionary, I was able to get my hands on a Nexus 5 for a few weeks to review and since I’m already glued to my cellphone, being glued to two probably got me a few odd stares. Unfortunately I wouldn’t know if I did, you kind of have to look up for that. Using the Nexus was great, and also a painful reminder of how slow my old Galaxy Nexus is.


(It boots up so much faster than my Galaxy Nexus, I really felt sorry for the old guy)

The first thing I did when I got ahold of the device was load all of my favorite apps on it. I’m constantly on Twitter, Tumblr, Google+, Pintetrest, Instagram and whatever other social media site you can think of. These sites are fun, but having all the notifications running in the background drains the hell out of my battery, on top of my constant usage. So for the first few days, I was on a rampage on twitter. On a 10 hour shift at work, with constant usage I was able to go about 8 hours before having to plug it in. Next I wanted to see how long I could leave it alone before the battery went out and it lasted for a few days, even with the notifications going in the background.

Although it’s bigger than the Galaxy Nexus and the Nexus 4, the Nexus 5 is extremely light. The phone with its case weighed less than my Galaxy Nexus without anything on it. 4.4 Kit Kat is amazingly smooth. It works continuously between apps without pausing, and on the 5 inch screen typing on Kit Kat is extremely easy. Apps startup quickly, and changing between apps or even turning them off in the task manager doesn’t have the half second pause that the Jellybean update did.

As a Vanilla Android phone it doesn’t have some of the cool features that the new Galaxy Note 3 or S4 have, but it’s definitely worth the purchase.

Leave a Reply

